Harper Summer Tour: ASK ME HOW I GOT HERE

HarperTeenSummer2016Tour

I’m so excited to be taking part in the Harper Summer 2016 Tour! There are some incredible books coming out in the next few months from HarperCollins and today I get to feature the newest book from author Christine Heppermann. Ask Me How I Got Here is a novel told in verse, and it will absolutely blow your mind how such a thought-provoking and emotional story can be told through such a unique format.

Heppermann’s writing is beautiful and Addie’s story is so important. Ask Me How I Got Here is a novel about finding your identity while dealing with the outside voices coming from parents, religion, and peers. There’s thought-provoking content, romance, and moments that will make you smile.

23266647

From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. This thought-provoking and sophisticated read further confirms Christine Heppermann as an important voice in the tradition of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson, and A. S. King.

Addie has always known what she was running toward. In cross-country, in life, in love. Until she and her boyfriend—her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend—are careless one night and she ends up pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that—even though she knows it was the right decision for her—nothing is the same anymore. She doesn’t want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn’t want to run cross-country; she can’t bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who’s going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free-verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit. Like Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins, Christine Heppermann is a voice to turn to for the truth of difficult subjects. Ask Me How I Got Here is a literary exploration of sexuality, religion, and self-discovery.

Find it here: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | IndieBound | The Book Depository

As part of the Harper Summer Tour, there will be a chance to chat with some of the authors on Facebook. On 3/16/16 at 8 pm EST, you can join Julie Eshbaugh (IVORY & BONE), Lindsey Klingele (THE MARKED GIRL), Paula Stokes (GIRL AGAINST THE UNIVERSE), and Michelle Andreani & Mindi Scott (THE WAY BACK TO YOU). Join the fun here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1681073622164713/

*GIVEAWAYS*

1 – A Harper Teen Summer 2016 Catalog prizepack of 45 books*.

*Titles not included: The Crown by Kiera Cass, Escape from Asylum by Madeline Roux, Sing by Vivi Greene, The Countdown by Kimberly Derting, & United As One by Pittacus Lore

In addition to the one massive prize winner, we will also have 4 winners who will be able to select 3 titles they want from the Summer 2016 Catalog. US Only.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 – 5 Finished Copies from the Harper Teen Winter 2016 Catalog

5 books are: Front Lines by Michael Grant, Revenge & the Wild by Michelle Modesto, The Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks, Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin, & The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. US Only.

How to enter:

Collect the daily word from each blog stop during the Harper Summer 2016 Tour (a total of 50). Once you’ve collected them all, email the complete saying to: HarperTeenTour@gmail.com

Prize Rules:

  • Winner must have a valid US mailing address to receive the prize
  • Winner must be over 13
  • Only one (1) entry per person for Prize #2 – duplicates will be deleted.
  • Only a completed phrase will be accepted as an entry – do not email each word/phrase daily. Wait until you have the complete saying and then email in.
  • All email submissions must be received by 11:59 PM EST 3/31/2016.
  • Winners will be selected 4/1/2016 and will have 48 hours to claim their prize before another is selected.
  • Participating blogs and bloggers are not responsible for unsent, damaged, and/or stolen prizes offered by the publisher.

Hint: Our word is highlighted near the top of the post!

Check out the rest of the Harper Summer 2016 tour:

Lauren is a 20-year-old student living in Northern Virginia. She loves to read YA books and watch movies. Lauren is passionate about many things, but reading has always been a huge part of her life. Ever since she first learned to read, her parents have always had to pry books out of her hands when it’s time for other commitments. Lauren loves everything from The Hunger Games and Divergent, to Percy Jackson, mysteries like State of the Onion, and other YA books, like The Fault in Our Stars, and is always eager to try a new book, author, or series. She also loves music, public health, Harry Potter, and the Washington Capitals. Follow her on Twitter: @LWengrovitz.
  • trix23

    Sounds pretty intense, but I’m curious about the verse aspect!

  • Kim V

    I’ve never read a story told in verse. Now I’m intrigued.

  • Take Me Away To A Great Read

    This one could be interesting!

  • Hmm, this one sounds interesting!

  • Vivien

    Absolutely loved this author’s Poisoned Apples novel. I am a huge fan of verse novels!!!

  • Nobody Ramirez

    To compare this to Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson, and A. S. King books makes me really excited for it. Also there are not a lot YA books about abortion so it’s good to fins more about them.

  • I’m very intrigued by this book. I haven’t read Poisoned Apples but I am really wanting to give this one a shot since it seems like it will be written in prose/poem format.

  • Kate

    I’ve never read Poisoned Apples, but this book sounds like a great read. I also really like the cover.

  • Pingback: HarperTeen Summer 2016 Tour: Unforgivable by @amyreedfiction – Lekeisha The Booknerd()

  • Nicole Wetherington

    Would love to read this!