COVER REVEAL: Ripple by Heather Smith Meloche

I’m thrilled to be revealing the cover of upcoming debut novel Ripple by Heather Smith Meloche. For fans of edgy and thought-provoking contemporary novels, Ripple tells the story of how two teens’ self-destructive paths lead them to one another and help them heal in the process.

Before we get to the cover, I had the chance to ask Heather a few questions about her book, the writing process, and her dream casting:

Ripple tackles tough topics that some teens may face every day. What inspired you to write this book?

When I was a teen, I found unhealthy ways to try to feel confident and accepted, and I’ve met lots of teens who do the same thing. I wanted to portray characters searching for self-worth in damaging places and explore how they could overcome that.

What was your favorite part of writing Ripple and what did you find most challenging, especially considering the topics you were dealing with?

My favorite parts were any scene with Jack, my male lead. He’s funny, sweet, and unpredictable. I love him! The challenge came from the content. Some of the issues in the book are pretty intense, and when I wrote the first version of it almost ten years ago, that kind of content wasn’t found in YA stories. Now, I think YA more realistically portrays what teens go through and authors and publishers are more fearless in bringing that content to readers.

I know this can be a tough question to answer (but also hopefully fun): if you could choose the cast for a film adaptation of Ripple, who would you choose?

I’d totally wish for Elle Fanning as Tessa, the female lead. Elle is adorable, but she can also show grit and vulnerability when she acts. I’m also a huge Nick Robinson fan and would love for him to play Jack. He’s got a great mischievous look!

When people read Ripple, what do you most want them to take away from it?

Ripple is about destructive reactions and patterns in everybody’s lives. I want readers to finish it with the feeling that, with a little self-awareness and the support of good people, those patterns can be broken.


Without further ado, check out the incredible cover for Ripple:

Ripple Cover

Ripple by Heather Smith Meloche

(Putnam; On Sale September 20, 2016; 9780399175909; Ages 14 up; $17.99)

Book Summary:
When their too-adult lives lead them down self-destructive paths, these broken teens find a way to heal in this YA novel perfect for fans of Ellen Hopkins
With her impossible-to-please grandmother on her back about college and her disapproving step-dad watching her every move, Tessa would do anything to escape the pressure-cooker she calls home. So she finds a shot of much-needed power and confidence by hooking up with boys, even though it means cheating on her boyfriend. But when she’s finally caught red-handed, she’ll do anything she can to cover up what she’s done.

Jack is a prankster who bucks the system every chance he gets—each transgression getting riskier and riskier. He loves the thrill, and each adventure allows a little release because his smug smile and suave demeanor in the face of authority doesn’t make life at home with his mom any less tough. He tries to take care of her, but the truth is he’s powerless in the face of her fragile mental health. So he copes in his own way, by defacing public property and pulling elaborate pranks, though he knows in the end this’ll only screw up his life even more.
As they both try not to let their self-destructive patterns get the best of them, Tessa and Jack gravitate toward one another, discovering the best parts of themselves in the process. An honest portrayal of the urges that drive us and finding the strength to overcome them, Ripple is a stunning debut from a powerful new voice.

Heather Smith Meloche Author Photo

Credit: Orser Studio

Links: Goodreads | Barnes & Noble | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

About the Author:

Heather Smith Meloche is a writer and ESL instructor. She majored in English and Telecommunication at Michigan State University before completing a Master’s in Teaching English as a Second Language at Bowling Green State University. She won first place in the children’s/YA category of the Writer’s Digest Annual Competition in 2011 and her short fiction piece “Crosswire Bend” appeared on theYoung Adult Review Network with the honor of being their first published short story in verse. She also won the Katherine Paterson Prize through Hunger Mountain for her short story in verse, “Him,” on which Ripple is based. She lives in Rochester Hills, Michigan, with her husband, two sons, two dogs, and two cats.

Ripple goes on sale September 20, 2016!

Lauren is a 20-year-old student living in Northern Virginia. She loves to read YA books and watch movies. Lauren is passionate about many things, but reading has always been a huge part of her life. Ever since she first learned to read, her parents have always had to pry books out of her hands when it’s time for other commitments. Lauren loves everything from The Hunger Games and Divergent, to Percy Jackson, mysteries like State of the Onion, and other YA books, like The Fault in Our Stars, and is always eager to try a new book, author, or series. She also loves music, public health, Harry Potter, and the Washington Capitals. Follow her on Twitter: @LWengrovitz.