Music news: The Strokes announce new EP, premiere three new songs



New York City rock alternative rockers The Strokes broke a three year silence on Thursday with the announcement of a new EP and the subsequent premieres of all three of its new songs.

The EP, titled Future Present Past will be released on June 3 on Cult Records and contains four tracks – three new songs and remix.

The premieres of the EP’s three songs were spread out over the course of the day. First, “OBLIVIUS” was premiered on Culture Void, a show on SiriusXMU hosted by the band’s frontman Julian Casablancas. Later in the day, “Drag Queen” was premiered on Zane Lowe’s show on Apple Music’s Beats One station. Finally, “Threat of Joy” made its premiere on Annie Mac’s program on BBC Radio 1. The EP is rounded out by a remix of “OBLIVIUS”.

The EP marks the group’s first new music since their departure from RCA following the completion of their record deal with 2013’s Comedown Machine. Cult Records was founded by Casablancas and the label released both of his solo albums, 2009’s Phrazes for the Young and 2013’s Tyranny with his side-project The Voidz. The label has also released records from his Strokes bandmate Albert Hammond Jr., Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman Karen O and the British art rock group Everything Everything.

The EP is available for streaming on Spotify and is also available for pre-order on the Cult Records website.

Listen to “OBLIVIUS” below:

Ryan Gibbs is the music editor for The Young Folks. He is based in Newport, Rhode Island.