Red Hot Chili Peppers release new single “Dark Necessities”


It’s been a while since we hear something new from the Red Hot Chili Peppers, hasn’t it? Their last album, I’m with You was released back in 2011, and since then the band has kept quiet. If you were starting to miss Anthony Kiedis voice and Flea’s amazing bass playing, you are in luck! On May 4, the band released “Dark Necessities”, the first single from their upcoming eleventh albumThe Getaway.

RHCP is known for their funk-rock style and California-themed songs. “Dark Necessities” goes along these lines, but seems like the band is experimenting with new sounds as well. The 5-minute track starts with a fast paced guitar played by Josh Klinghoffer, later to be joined by Chad Smith’s drums, Flea’s unmatched bass and a piano with some good backup singing in the chorus. It sounds different from what we’ve heard before…but it’s good different.

Along with the song, the band also released the full track list for The Getaway:

1. The Getaway
2. Dark Necessities
3. We Turn Red
4. The Longest Wave
5. Goodbye Angels
6. Sick Love
7. Go Robot
8. Feasting on the Flowers
9. Detroit
10. This Ticonderoga
11. Encore
12. The Hunter
13. Dreams of a Samurai

The Getaway is produced by Danger Mouse and mixed by Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich. The album will be released on June 17. In the meantime, listen to “Dark Necessities” below and let us know what you think!

Cristina was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador. She has an MBA in Media & Entertainment and loves to talk and write about films, TV, and anything related to pop culture. Follow her on Twitter, @cristimoreano or contact her at