Music News: New Order Releases New Single “Restless”


Alternative icons New Order have released the first single from their latest album. “Restless” is taken from Music Complete, their first studio album in a decade, which is due on September 25 from Mute Records. It is their first album since 2001 with keyboardist Gillian Gilbert and their first album ever without bassist Peter Hook, who left the group in 2007.

Music Complete is the follow-up to 2005’s Waiting for the Sirens’ Call and 2013’s Lost Sirens, which featured songs recorded during the Sirens’ Call sessions. The album features guest appearances from Elly Jackson of La Roux, Tom Rowlands of the Chemical Brothers, and Iggy Pop and Brandon Flowers of the Killers (who incidentally took their name from the music video for New Order’s 2001 song “Crystal”).

It also features cover art from Peter Saville, who has been associated with the members of the group since Joy Division’s Unknown Pleasures.

A Youtube stream of “Restless,” and the tracklist for the album, can be found below

Music Complete

  1. Restless
  2. Singularity
  3. Plastic
  4. Tutti Frutti
  5. People On The High Line
  6. Stray Dog
  7. Academic
  8. Nothing But A Fool
  9. Unlearn This Hatred
  10. The Game
  11. Superheated

Ryan Gibbs is the music editor for The Young Folks. He is based in Newport, Rhode Island.