Music News: Ellie Goulding Debuts New Single “On My Mind” & Announces New Album

ellie goulding delirium

I’ve been waiting most of this year for Ellie Goulding to release new music and announce something about her next album. She teased us over the past couple days on Instagram, and today we finally got to hear her new single, “On My Mind.” Goulding also announced her third studio album, Delirium, will release on November 6, 2015.  Listen to your first taste of Delirium below.

Produced by Max Martin, “On My Mind” is a fast, catchy pop track, a bit different from Goulding’s previous music. I can’t say I’m in love with it like I’ve fallen in love with pretty much all of her other songs, but it’s far from bad. The candid lyrics are a little on the Taylor-Swift-y side. In one part, she sings “Thought that you were cute and you could make me jealous/ Pour it down, so I poured it down/ Next thing that I know, I’m in a hotel with you/ You were talking deep like it was mad love to you/ You wanted my heart, but I just liked your tattoos.” A response to Ed Sheeran’s “Don’t,” anyone? Besides that, Goulding’s vocals give the song just enough distinction to make the song stand out, if not by much.

My expectations have dimmed a bit for Delirium, but I have hope that the album will be another winner for Ellie Goulding. In today’s press release, she says, “A part of me views this album as an experiment – to make a big pop album. I made a conscious decision that I wanted it to be on another level.” In addition to working with Martin, Goulding recorded with Greg Kurstin, One Republic’s Ryan Tedder, Klas Ahlund and Disclosure’s Guy Lawrence. According to the studio, they helped Ellie craft “a jubilant and euphoric pop statement.” Although I’m not quite sure “On My Mind” is an accurate depiction of “jubilant” or “euphoric,” which are terms that really describe “Lights” and part of “Halcyon.”

Along with the announcement, Delirium’s track list was released. Expect “monumental anthems” from tracks “Army,” “On My Mind,” “Don’t Panic” and “Don’t Need Nobody.” (Fun Fact:”Army” is actually written about Ellie’s best friend, Hannah.)



1              Intro (Delirium)
2              Aftertaste
3              Something In The Way You Move
4              Keep On Dancin’
5              On My Mind
6              Around U
7              Codes
8              Holding On For Life
9              Love Me Like You Do
10           Don’t Need Nobody
11           Don’t Panic
12           We Can’t Move To This
13           Army
14           Lost And Found
15           Devotion
16           Scream It Out
17           The Greatest
18           I Do What I Love
19           Paradise
20           Winner
21           Heal
22           Outside

The press release also states that “Delirium is the work of an artist who is seizing her moment.” I really hope that’s true. As a huge Ellie Goulding fan, I find that she’s massively underrated, and some of her best songs aren’t the ones overplayed on the radio. “On My Mind” might not meet expectations, but I hope Delirium shows off to everyone how talented she is.

Gabrielle is 27 years old and lives in Chicago. She enjoys writing about film, TV, and books, but occasionally writes about music as well. In addition to writing for, she also the editor-in-chief and a co-founder. In her spare time, she’s either watching more movies and shows or reading more books, while continuously checking Twitter, which she may or may not be addicted to… Feel free to email her your thoughts, ideas and questions.